← All pricing explainers

What Adobe Firefly Actually Costs in 2026

Generative credits, standalone plans, and the safety claim you are paying for.

3.0DrinkableDrinkableFull Adobe Firefly review

What you are actually buying

Generative credits per tier on standalone plans, separate from Creative Cloud, consumed by every generation.

Advertised: From $9.99/moStandalone Firefly plans on Adobe's site: Standard $9.99/mo (2,000 generative credits), Pro $19.99 (4,000), Pro Plus $49.99 (10,000), Premium $199.99 (50,000). Also bundled into Creative Cloud plans.

Do the maths

  • =Each tier is a published credit count, so cost per generation falls as you move up the tiers.
  • =Failed and unusable generations consume credits too, so your effective cost per usable image is higher than the headline division.
  • =The two top tiers are advertised at a first-year promotional rate, meaning year two costs more for identical usage.

Worked from rates the vendor publishes. We do not estimate your usage, because we cannot know it, and a made-up average is worse than no number.

Where the bill surprises people

  • !The widely-quoted cheap entry price is out of date; standalone Firefly starts higher than most articles say.
  • !Credits stop your work when they run out rather than slowing it.
  • !Bloomberg found roughly 5% of Firefly's training images were themselves AI-generated, including Midjourney output, which Adobe did not disclose.

Worth it if

You need the commercial indemnification and you have read the actual terms rather than the marketing that summarises them.

Not worth it if

You are buying it purely because it is described as the safe model. That claim is weaker than it was, and you are paying a premium for it.

What you are really paying for

Firefly's image quality is competitive rather than leading. The premium is for the commercial safety story: a model trained on licensed content, with indemnification for enterprise customers.

That is a real product and for some buyers it is the only thing that matters. It is also the part that got more complicated.

The training-data finding

Bloomberg reported that roughly 5% of Firefly's training images were themselves AI-generated, including output from Midjourney, and that Adobe did not disclose this. Five percent is not most of the model, and Adobe's indemnification is a contractual promise rather than a claim about the training set being pure.

But if the entire reason you are paying Adobe rather than anyone else is provenance, that finding is directly relevant to the thing you are buying. Read the indemnification terms yourself and check what they actually cover, because the marketing summary and the contract are not the same document.

The credits behave like everyone else's

Generative credits per tier, consumed by every generation including the ones you throw away. Work stops when they run out. The two top tiers carry a first-year promotional rate, so budget for year two at the undiscounted price.

Also note the entry price: standalone Firefly starts higher than the figure most older articles quote, so anything you read recommending it as the cheap option is out of date.

What we would do

  • Enterprise, legal requirement for indemnification: this is your option, and read the terms rather than the landing page.
  • Everyone else: you are paying a premium for a claim that has been partially undercut. Compare on output and price like any other generator.
  • Already subscribed on a promo tier: diarise the renewal date.

What changed, with sources

  • 2026-09-17pricing

    Firefly is sold standalone on Adobe's own plans page: Standard US$9.99/mo (2,000 generative credits), Pro US$19.99/mo (4,000), Pro Plus US$49.99/mo (10,000) and Premium US$199.99/mo (50,000), with the two top tiers shown at a 30% first-year promo. Billing is credit-metered, not unlimited.

    Adobe (official Firefly plans page)
Every pricing change we have recorded, across every app →

We will email you when Adobe Firefly changes its pricing again

That is the entire newsletter: price changes, free tiers shrinking, plans being retired. No weekly roundup. Leave in one click.

Prices move. Check Adobe Firefly's current plans before you buy.

Visit Adobe Firefly

Other pricing explainers

We have not verified Adobe Firefly's current pricing directly with the vendor, so treat the figures above as indicative. Vendors change plans often, so confirm before you buy. Scores are our own editorial verdicts in cyders out of 5. How we score.

Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you sign up through one, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never affects what we say about the price. See our affiliate disclosure.